संचार मंत्रालय
Ministry of Communications

Skip To navigation


About North East LSA

North East LSA is a unique LSA consisting of DoT units at six north eastern states (Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura) with head quarter at Shillong, headed by Special Director General Telecom, Group ‘A’ officer of Indian Telecommunication Service (ITS) and five state coordination units placed at Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura. These six NE states share the total international boundary of 4603 km with Bangladesh, Bhutan, China and Myanmar.

Geographically NE LSA covers area of 1,76,645 Sq. Km consists of population of 1,39,56,035(Source: Census Data 2011).

NE LSA primarily focuses on Licensing Compliance, Network Coverage, Security of telecom networks, improving rural telecom connectivity and Quality of Service, facilitating technology proliferation, enforcement of telecom policy regulations and coordination with the State Governments on Telecom related aspects etc.

The LSA has 80 districts with total 19,044 villages out of which 13,934 villages are covered by Mobile services (2G/3G/4G). The LSA has 1,54,50,892 subscriber base.